Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and my pledge for adventure

3 Dec

When Sleeping Beauty was banished to eternal snoozetime, I doubt anyone took the time to make sure she was on memory foam.

I’d rather be Cinderella.

At least she has stories.

I went to the ballet last night, in case anyone’s wondering why on Earth I’ve chosen to discuss fairy tales.

When I got the invitation, I was less than excited.  I mean, punk-shows are one thing, but the ballet?  Anyone who follows me will recall my childhood ballerina nightmare. So it’s not surprising that I wasn’t overly ecstatic about the idea of watching a bunch of dancers flutter about onstage.

Turns out I was wrong.

With just the right amount of wine warming my cheeks, and the amazing set-design and choreography, Cinderella done post-modern was inspiring.

I mean, not enough to make me want to twirl about in slippers, but still.

The whole show took place in London 1940 and the stepmother was a drunken ballerina.

So that was fun.

They even did an inebriated dance which was pretty creative, all things considered.  I walked in expecting Disney on Ice or some unholy equivilant, and was happy to discover art.

Just goes to show, I should be getting out more and trying new things.

No time to start like the present.  I’m sitting in the Eurostar train station as I write this, awaiting the arrival of one very crazy, very witty, very good friend.

I’m meeting Man Shopper, and yes-we have a plan.

It involves characters, corsets, and my pledge to attempt an evening sans sarcasm.

Stay tuned.  Like the ballet, this could turn out surprisingly inspiring.

Either that, or I’ll be forced to locate some memory foam, a hot water bottle, and my pj pants.

16 Responses to “Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and my pledge for adventure”

  1. wolfshades December 3, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    You paint your experience with the post-modern ballet as almost enticing. Hmm. Makes me think I may have missed out on something. Oh, and opera too.

    Looking forward to reading more of your adventures!

    • wanderingmenace December 3, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      hahaha
      Well I was also once forced to go to the opera, but I’m afraid I didn’t find it as fun. Madame Butterfly was a snore, but that’s another post so I won’t go into too much detail here.
      The guy doing the choreography for Cinderella is incredibly well known for being super out there. He did a production of Swan Lake with an entire male cast. Or so I learned last night. I’m not really that knowledgeable regarding dance, I just get lucky on who invites me places I guess.

  2. Bob December 3, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    You and Man-Shopper have a great time today!! Try not to do anything too illegal or too immoral. Ah who am I kidding have a blast whatever you decide to do!!

  3. Sarah December 3, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    I’m glad you had a good time at the ballet. I love it.

    • wanderingmenace December 3, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Yea, it was really cool actually. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh December 3, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    Your post titles are awesome! And I totally get the sarcasm bit…trust me….I could never make it any entire evening without sarcasm…..do I sound sarcastic when I say that? 🙂

    • wanderingmenace December 3, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

      Well thanks Idiot! I’m glad you like them.
      Yea, I’m really not sure how well I’ll do.

      If I can pull it off, it’ll be the first time.

  5. Mom December 3, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Now, I like this post, & of course I told you so on the ballet. I do think you need to give oprea another try!

    • wanderingmenace December 3, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

      Mom,

      I am not attending the opera with you again. No thank you.
      Take Dad, he married into this.

  6. Mrs. K December 4, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    My husband and I passed a ballet showing the other day so I said I’d love to do that again. I grew up watching tons of ballets b/c my stepmother was a professional ballerina (that sounds completely ridiculous, doesn’t it? lol). His response? “Ok, babe. We’ll put that on the list of ‘Things Jordan Will Never Do'”.
    😦

    • wanderingmenace December 4, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      Your step-mother was a professional ballerina?
      Woah.
      I’d be intimidated to know a ballerina in real life. They’re like freak ninjas of the stage community.

      I doubt you’d wanna go to a ballet with your husband if he’s not interested. He’d probably just pester you the whole time. Take a girlfriend and send him out for beers and pizza. 🙂

  7. Gnetch December 4, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    My cousin was a ballerina but we were never that close so I never watched her recitals. :p

    I’m glad you had fun!!

    • wanderingmenace December 4, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      I did, I did.
      My mom has many a picture of me all ready to go to the recitals. For some reason they are all professional pictures, so as if the humiliation of me in various ballet costumes isn’t enough, they all look suspiciously like glamour shots.
      So that happened.
      Not the greatest aspect of my childhood, that’s for sure. 🙂

  8. Chickens Consigliere December 5, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    Um. I predict snow, drink up friends.

    • wanderingmenace December 5, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      Drinking: check.
      Snow: check.
      Awesome to be friends with the chicken: check.

Leave a Reply

