Shades, cavities, and picking myself up by my Chuck-straps

11 Feb

Today a British dentist made me wear a pair of sunglasses while he filled in my cavity.

Evidently this is common in England.  When I asked, I was informed it was to protect my eyeballs from any instruments that may ‘accidentally’ fall into my face.

This inspired confidence, I assure you.  I lay in the chair, donned the shades, kicked my Chucks, and waited for the good gentlemen to explain the situation occuring inside my tooth.

It was huge.

The cavity, not the chair.

Well, I suppose the chair was pretty big too but I meant to focus on the cavity here.  Though you’ll never hear me question why dentist chairs aren’t used in formal dining venues.  That big mirror and light are a tad distracting.

As I sat in the chair, sunglasses covering my eyes I thought of three things:

1.  Sunglasses?  Really?

2.  why are these not RayBans?

and

3. why have I ignored my blog for so long?

Then I remembered that my last post was a Christmas poem and that I have become the blogosphere’s equivilant of a catlady who keeps her tree until June.

I’ve never claimed to be cool, but I think we can all agree-the wreath and lights must come down.

So here I am.

Christmas cavity filled.

Decorations put away.

Windows opened.

Cats annihilated.

Watch out Springtime, Zilla’s coming out of hybernation.

 

 

21 Responses to “Shades, cavities, and picking myself up by my Chuck-straps”

  1. Bob February 12, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    Yayyy!!! Zilla’s back! Glad to hear that you’ve kicked those winter blues and decided to join the land of the living again.

    Weird about the sunglasses??

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 7:58 am #

      Sooo weird about the sunglasses. If I had known, maybe I would have brought my own fun pair just to lighten the mood.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh February 12, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    Welcome back BlondeZilla!! So great to have you back with us! Have a great day!

  3. Allison February 12, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    When I go to the dentist (in Canada) they do this baking soda spray – and they make me wear goggles so it doesn’t get in my eyes. Afterwards when I touch my face it feels like I have tiny grains of sand all over it. Thankfully, no cavities. I should go brush my teeth now!

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      Yea I managed to end up with a bunch of weird sand stuff on my cheeks too. Go Brush Woman!

  4. Mom February 12, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Personally I like the glasses. If I close my eyes I can visual being on a warm beach, well until the drill starts. My dentist always puts a thick lip balm on my lips,which I like also. Sorta of spa like.

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      well evidently your dentist didn’t want to share the lip balm love madre, which I think is a little mean…

  5. Chickens Consigliere February 12, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Hi Zilla-yes, me too. I’ve also been an internet cat lady, and I have also decided it is time to change my neglectful ways. I haven’t been to the dentist though. Perhaps it is time for that, too. I will request, no I will demand, a pair of sunglasses, lest I be blinded by falling dental debris.

  6. Man-shopper February 12, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    That was not the way for that dentist to inspire confidence in British dentistry…

    Random aside: I have a huge girl crush on my dentist. HUGE. Almost creepy. If I ever move back to the Bay Area, I will be her bestie, that’s a promise. And then I’ll probably get all single-white-female on her ass.

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      I have a girl crush on the girl who makes my coffee at the library. She’s wonderful. But I don’t recommend getting all crazy on her ass, probably not going to end well…

  7. seine February 14, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    haha, glad you’re back 🙂 my hygienist hands me lab goggles even when she’s cleaning my teeth, so that anything that splatters doesn’t get in my eye … i suppose we do live in a sue-happy society

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 8:03 am #

      Yea I can see the goggles I guess. The shades really do wonders for the mood though, I gotta say.

  8. geekhiker February 14, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Welcome back to the web! I was starting to wonder. I hate it when a cool blogger stops by my blog, then vanishes a short time later. Makes me feel like I chased ’em off the net! 🙂

    So, now that the cavity has been filled, are you all smiles again?

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 8:04 am #

      Fear not geekhiker, you did not chase me from the web! 🙂
      Cavity filled, smile at work!
      Thanks for commenting!

  9. apieceofthepiehole February 15, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Welcome back! I found you right when you went into hibernation! I despise the dentist, yet I have a good one and they too make you wear eye protection when working on you in the states. Only you have a cooler option! Shades!

    • wanderingmenace February 17, 2011 at 8:05 am #

      I didn’t use to mind the dentist, but I also didn’t use to get cavities. I gotta say, that made the experience much more unpleasant as I wiggled around in my shades, not happy about the drilling.

  10. Trevor Christen February 17, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Well Done

  11. Sandy February 20, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    My dentist always hands me shades, usually covered in fingerprints….so I now take my own.

  12. subWOW March 3, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    When I started receiving your posts in my inbox, I was very very excited. Spring indeed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

