Remember remember the 5th of November, zombies, and my potential viking master

17 Nov

Today I’m hoping to see a zombie.

I flew from Paris to Manchester yesterday with my boss.  We’re staying in Huddersfield, and according to a brochure I found in the hotel lobby, the Dungeon of York promises ghosts.

Ghosts, and potentially zombies.

The ghosts have been lingering around York since 1551 when the putrid plague brought forth pussing boils, rotting corpses, and the lingering scent of all things horrifying.  Creatures and items which fall under this category include (but not limited to) ghosts, snakes, witches, bigger ghosts, vampires (the real kind, there will be no mention of that series here dear readers), Lord Voldemort, Hannibal, anyone dedicated to killing in the serial fashion, beets, and of course, zombies.

What better method of zombie creation than a horrendous plague?  The bodies are already there, and I don’t imagine zombies hump, so their reproduction must somehow be linked to disease.

Hence, my assumption there is such a thing as the zombies of York.

Also a logical conclusion is that they are lingering just outside this hotel room in the woods across the street.  I can practically hear them shuffling through the leaves in search of innocent blood.

Ok, so if it was really innocent they were after, maybe I wouldn’t be their girl.  Let’s say-American blood.  Yea, I bet those York zombies can’t wait to take a bite out of a Yank.  Which would ultimately make me a Yank-York-Zombie, and last time I checked, that’s not on my to-do list.

Also, I’m on the ground floor so they wouldn’t have to climb to find me or anything.  They’d basically just have to cross the street (crosswalk provided for their safety), break my window, and create a whole new monster for their clan.

Great.

The York Dungeon evidently also hosts an exhibit on something called the Bloody Vikings.  Next to the blurb: “Keep your wits about you as the Vikings go bersek in York-where will you run when the Vikings raid?”, is what looks like a bloody gladiator with a really mean face.

This is not the face you want to sit next to on public transportation, that’s for sure.

Still, he’s far more attractive than the plague-zombies, and I’m guessing if he bashes in my window, I’ll probably have to be some kind of gladiator-slave-wench.  If that happens, I hope Hollywood is involved in the costume design because I am going to need some serious hair and makeup maintenance to pull of that look with any kind of dignity.

There is also a labyrinth of shadowy mirrors.  I’m not entirely sure what this entails, but it claims to be from the lost Roman legion, and judging by the screaming child in the image, it is either related to murder, or David Bowie invented spandex in the Roman era.

It’s a shame I don’t have time to go to the museum itself to do more research.  I’d like to be properly prepared for all of the horrendous horror which may quickly find its way to me today.

There are a lot of gruesome shenanigans that have occurred in York at one time or another.  It’s amazing anyone would choose to live here.

Maybe I should purchase binoculars to search f0r the zombies from the treetops.

You know, for anthropological purposes.   I wouldn’t want to get too close, but I can hardly pass up the opportunity to go zombie-watching.

9 Responses to “Remember remember the 5th of November, zombies, and my potential viking master”

  1. John November 17, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    I’ve been to York twice and now I feel thnakful to have gotten out alive!

    • wanderingmenace November 17, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

      As you should John, as you should 🙂 Glad to know you avoided the zombies

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh November 17, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Happy Zombie Hunting! (That’s something I don’t get to say often..)

    • wanderingmenace November 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

      Why thank you Mark!!

      I will keep you updated on the latest in all things zombie-related.
      You can’t be too careful these days….

  3. Claude November 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    You can also see the legion wandering through the belly of the York minster too..apparently. Also the ghostwalks can be very good (or very bad). Look for the guy wearing the top hat and cape.
    I miss living in York 😦

    • wanderingmenace November 17, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      I assume you are telling me there is a ghost parading around York in a top hat and a cape?!?!

      Great. Just great, one more thing to keep an eye out for. I hope it’s not a cape like mine, because I’d really hate to be lumped into the ghost fashion faux-pas scene….

  4. Bob November 18, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Zombies of York are they cousins to the Werewolves of London?

    • wanderingmenace November 18, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      You know I’m not sure if there is a blood tie there….I will do some research for you and get back when I know more deetz

Leave a comment